navigation corner (decorative)
banner corner (decoration)
banner corner (decoration)

Business Resources


In 1973, the Province of Ontario passed The Regional Municipality of Durham Act to establish Durham as one of five Regional governments in the Greater Toronto Area. Durham Region formed eight area municipalities: Ajax, Brock, Clarington, Oshawa, Pickering, Scugog, Uxbridge and Whitby. Members of the first Regional Council were elected late in 1973, and The Regional Municipality of Durham began operating on Jan. 1, 1974.

The regional system of municipal government consists of two tiers. The upper tier is the regional level, which operates at a broader scale to provide planning, servicing, financing and economic development for the Region. The eight area municipalities constitute the lower tier, and operate at a more local scale, handling services such as local planning, fire protection, tax collection and parks and recreation.

Mayors and Councillors

The Regional Municipality of Durham
905-668-7711 / 1-800-372-1102

Roger Anderson, Regional Chair and CEO

Town of Ajax

Mayor Steve Parish
Councillor Shaun Collier
Councillor Colleen Jordon

Township of Brock
705-432-2355 / 1-866-223-7668

Mayor John Grant
Councillor Ted Smith

Municipality of Clarington
905-623-3379 / 1-800-563-1195

Mayor Adrian Foster
Councillor Joe Neal
Councillor Willie Woo

City of Oshawa
905-436-3311 / 1-800-667-4292

Mayor John Henry
Councillor John Aker
Councillor Dan Carter
Councillor Bob Chapman
Councillor Nancy Diamond
Councillor Amy England
Councillor John Neal
Councillor Nester Pidwerbecki

City of Pickering
905-420-2222 / 1-866-683-2760

Mayor Dave Ryan
Councillor Bill McLean
Councillor Jennifer O'Connell
Councillor David Pickles

Township of Scugog

Mayor Tom Rowett
Councillor Bobbie Drew

Township of Uxbridge

Mayor Gerri Lynn O'Connor
Councillor Jack Ballinger

Town of Whitby

Mayor Don Mitchell
Councillor Lorne Coe
Councillor Joe Drumm
Councillor Elizabeth Roy

Durham Region logo