navigation corner (decoration)
banner corner (decoration)
banner corner (decoration)

Site Selection


Police Service

Durham Region Police Service (D.R.P.S) serves the eight communities that make up the Region of Durham, and is composed of approximately 1,200 full and part-time employees, including police and civilian personnel.

The force is equipped with 374 service vehicles that include marked cruisers, unmarked and specialty vehicles, motorcycles and bicycles. The police force has more than 30 specialty units, including the Marine Unit, which is responsible for the enforcement of three bodies of water in the Region. These include Lake Ontario, Lake Scugog and Lake Simcoe (the area around Beaverton, Thorah Island and parts of the Trent-Severn Waterway). Members of the Marine Unit are specially trained for marine enforcement and rescue duties, including ice rescue.

The D.R.P.S. also works closely with municipalities, school boards, community organizations and neighbourhood representatives to develop and implement appropriate community-based policing programs. These include but are not limited to: Crime Stoppers, Neighbourhood Watch, Regional Ride Program, Kids Safety Village and Child Find. The rate of violent crime in the Region reduced by 4.7 per cent in 2011, and continues to remain low.

Durham Regional Police Headquarters
605 Rossland Rd. E, Box 911
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
L1N 0B8
Durham Local: (905) 579-1520
Toll Free: 1-888-579-1520

Fire Protection Services

Fire Protection Services in Durham Region are provided by each municipality.  There are  27 fire stations in operation throughout the region, and each station is committed to providing the highest level of life safety and property protection to residents, visitors and businesses in our community.

Ajax Fire and Emergency Services consists of 100 full-time staff operating from three fire halls. The department has six pumpers, two aerials, a pumper/tanker and rescue truck.

Brock Township Fire Department is mainly a part-time operation, with 68 part-time staff, a full-time chief and a full-time fire prevention officer operating from three fire halls. Vehicles operated include six pumpers, three rescue vehicles and three tankers.

Clarington Fire Services consists of 50 full-time staff and approximately 120 part-time staff operating from five fire halls. Equipment consists of seven pumpers, one aerial, one rescue, one brush truck and five tankers.

Oshawa Fire Services consists of more than 170 full-time staff operating from five fire stations. The service operates seven pumpers, two aerials, one aerial platform, one rescue and one tanker.

Pickering Fire Services consists of 94 full-time staff and eight part-time firefighters operating from four fire halls. The department has five pumpers, an aerial, two telesquirts, three tankers, two heavy rescue trucks and a brush truck.

Scugog Township Fire Department is mainly a part-time operation, but employs a number of full-time staff. The department operates five pumpers and two rescue units from two fire halls.

Uxbridge Fire Department consists of three full-time employees and 34 part-time staff operating from one fire hall. Equipment consists of three pumpers, one tanker and a rescue vehicle.

Whitby Fire and Emergency Services consists of 104 Suppression staff, five Fire Prevention staff, one Public Education Officer, two Training Officers, 2 Deputy Fire Chiefs, and one Fire Chief. The department operates from five halls with two aerial platforms, seven pumper fire trucks, one water tanker, and one rescue unit.

Durham Region logo